THE WOO-WOO

October 10, 2007 at 11:25 pm 6 comments

It is bad luck to fall out of a thirteenth story window on Friday.
American Proverb

October means Halloween and it seems like the perfect month to talk about my one of my wild beliefs and superstitions.

I’ve got to start with the number 13. Most people have a problem with this number. Heck most hotels don’t have a 13th floor, neither do skyscrapers. For me it’s a sign good things are about to happen. Now to explain, I can’t say I believe whole heartedly in numerology, but this number has popped up A LOT in my life. I was 13 when I got pregnant with my daughter. Not such a good thing right? (Not my daughter, getting pregnant period.) Well, she was born on August 13, that year it happened to fall on a Friday. Strangely, after all that baby weight my jean size coincided with this number. Cue spooky music. (Or call weight watchers)

Now life went on and then I met a football player. We had a baby boy, also born on the 13th of August and guess what, it fell on a Friday. No lie. That’s not all. Guess what my son’s father football number was? 13. I didn’t think about it until after I had my son. At this point I started think maybe, just maybe, I should be paying attention when this number comes up.

Still not convinced. I was born in ‘85. Guess what happens when you add 8 and 5 together, you get 13.

Icing on the freaky cake. I started my fourth book in June. I laughed when I thought about the number four. 1 + 3 equals 4. Do you recognize those two numbers? I joked to my mother my fourth book will result in a sale. I wasn’t that far off. Heh.

But if all that doesn’t give you a chill, 2 +2 also equals 4. Count back the years from ‘85 and guess my age . . .

Have a spooky day.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

PROCRASTINATION: another form of writing Heh

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. raine  |  October 11, 2007 at 5:49 am

    Hmmm…you’re trying to tell us something about the number 13–right?
    (lmao!)

  • 2. RandomRanter  |  October 11, 2007 at 2:09 pm

    I worked for several years in a building that did have a thirteenth floor, and that was where our office was.

  • 3. Mel  |  October 11, 2007 at 3:12 pm

    Random-Lol. Where I live they are still very wary of the number 13. The court house jumps straight from 12 to 14. It could be the buidling is at least 50 years old.

  • 4. Mel  |  October 11, 2007 at 3:13 pm

    Raine- You are so astute. I thought the meaning of my post would get lost in the rambling. I do tend to do that a lot.(lol)

  • 5. Jennifer Elbaum  |  October 11, 2007 at 4:09 pm

    Hoping that great things happen for you this Saturday!

  • 6. Mel  |  October 11, 2007 at 9:06 pm

    I have my local chapter meeting this weekend and I’m sure we’ll be celebrating my sale in some way. If that’s not good I don’t know what is.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

