PROCRASTINATION: another form of writing

October 9, 2007 at 3:40 pm 9 comments

Nothing much to report. I’m trying to be a “real” writer, which means writing again. I’ve been letting How Much? float around in my head and let a few more scenes percolate. But really what I’ve been doing is scouring istock for pictures. I found this one and it’s Neil all the way.

The pool table, the look on her face, the hair. NEIL. So who’s the guy that will make her knees buckle.

This is Gibland Winifred the Third. To be honest my knees wobbled a little when I saw this picture and this one below.

The natural process of seeing this picture led me to find a picture of how I see the love scene. Two words: Garter Belts.

She actually wears them in the sex scene and Gib’s picture in that business suit is inspiring one where he’s only wearing a tie. So, no, not procrastination. Another form of writing.

Blog amended:
Forgot to add. What do you think of the new banner at the top? (I’m a little sad about the naked guy being gone.) Does it look professional, nice, horrible? Be honest I can take it.

Entry filed under: inspiration, placeholders.

HOLIDAYS AND HOW I HATE THEM THE WOO-WOO

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Edie  |  October 9, 2007 at 3:59 pm

    Great pictures, Mel! My characters faces are a little fuzzy and not so clear. I know them inside more than outside. With one of my characters, I only mentioned her hair color when she was buying hair color at Walgreens, lol. That’s one way to do it.

  • 2. Mel  |  October 9, 2007 at 4:18 pm

    Really when I’m looking for placeholders I go for the stance and facial expressions. Something that says to me, that’s my character. I think I hit a goldmine when I found these particular pictures of Neil and Gib.

    I’m a very visual person, but in my first draft I’m looking for the inside character. I go for what the character thinks are their strenghts, but are also their flaws. It’s after I’m done that I look for placeholders. I’m one of those writers that collages and it helps me write more scenes and to get a visual sense of who they are.

  • 3. Jennifer Elbaum  |  October 9, 2007 at 6:05 pm

    Love seeing where writers get their inspiration. Thanks for sharing!

  • 4. Mel  |  October 9, 2007 at 7:50 pm

    Jennifer-You’re welcome and my process is strange, but it’s mine. If it helps someone else that’s the most I can ask for.

  • 5. Christina Phillips  |  October 10, 2007 at 1:35 am

    Mel, HUGE congrats on your publishing contract! That’s so exciting! (and love the inspirational pics!)

  • 6. Mel  |  October 10, 2007 at 2:13 am

    Thank you.

  • 7. Allie Boniface  |  October 10, 2007 at 10:07 am

    Mel, I miss the naked guy too…but I do like the new banner. Looks good.

  • 8. Patricia W.  |  October 10, 2007 at 3:57 pm

    The new banner is nice, Mel. The naked guy was…grabbing.

  • 9. Mel  |  October 10, 2007 at 10:15 pm

    Allie-I really appreciate the feedback.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

