HOLIDAYS AND HOW I HATE THEM

October 8, 2007 at 8:36 pm 4 comments

A perpetual holiday is a good working definition of hell.

George Bernard Shaw (1856 – 1950)

Tis the season that makes me nutty.

Melissa Blue (1985 to still breathing)

Fellow Cherry, Eileen Cook, posted about today being Canada’s version of Thanksgiving. How my heart goes out to her. I hate the cheer, the good will towards men, the shopping. Oh, let me repeat myself, THE SHOPPING, during the holidays. If Wally World had a heart,( first and foremost it’ll be colder than a witches tit), it’d be palpating thinking of all the harried parents about to grace its threshold with the list of what their kid must have or they’ll die. *sigh*

That alone wouldn’t make me dread the holidays, it’s the family get togethers. Yes, by going to these things they call parties, I have endless material to write more books, but you must understand my family is crazy. Around mid-November my phone starts to ring incessantly. My family, my children’s family calling, to see who is doing what where, when, how, and “Did you hear. . .” At times like this I start to dream of Maine and a blizzard that would wipe out my phone lines and I can live in peace. Then my phone rings.

This year I’ve come up with a solution. I’ve decided this year I’m going to sleep through the holidays. So somebody wake me up around New Year’s.

Entry filed under: holidays, rant.

FORKS IN THE ROAD PROCRASTINATION: another form of writing

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jennifer Elbaum  |  October 8, 2007 at 10:09 pm

    Yay, another fellow Holiday Hater!
    And what’s with having stuff in the stores MONTHS AND MONTHS before the holiday? The week after the 4th of July, my supermarket had dedicated half an aisle to Halloween candy and junk.You just know they’re going to start piping in Xmas carols any day now…

  • 2. Mel  |  October 9, 2007 at 12:20 am

    Going into stores you get sick of the holiday before it ever comes and hell half the time you forget it hasn’t even come yet.

  • 3. Jess  |  October 9, 2007 at 1:09 pm

    I’m avoiding it this year by going to Kenya for Thanksgiving and saying that I’ll be recuperating from jet lag through to January. 😉

  • 4. Mel  |  October 9, 2007 at 3:09 pm

    Lol. I’m soooo jealous right now.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

