FORKS IN THE ROAD

October 5, 2007 at 9:30 pm 2 comments

“Your life can change in a blink of an eye.”
Not sure who said it.

Every other Friday in my world of work I see a woman go home. This is a BIG deal where I work. This means she’s served her time here on The Rock. She got through all her classes, she sat through hours on end of hearing someone tell her she can change her life, has to hear, has to understand she can’t go back to alcohol or drugs, and finally when the six months are up she can go home.

Some women don’t pause on their way out the gate, others don’t bother to look back, some are racked with sobs, because for once in their lives they had a family, dysfunctional, but still theirs. I can see them pass by my office window and know what that feels like. I know what it means to not be the same person you were a day, a week before. Something you hoped would happen, happens. You trade in your old worries for new ones. It’s scary as hell to be at that fork in the road without a map and a compass that only points south, most times it’s worth just putting one foot in front of the other.

Have a great weekend.

Entry filed under: musings.

TOP TEN SIGNS YOU’VE JUST BEEN OFFERED A PUBLISHING CONTRACT HOLIDAYS AND HOW I HATE THEM

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Edie  |  October 6, 2007 at 2:56 pm

    Mel, I write my books one word in front of the other. For my life, I have goals, but sometimes stuff happens and that fork shows up. Then it’s like you said, one foot at a time.

  • 2. Mel  |  October 6, 2007 at 3:40 pm

    Sometimes you are bombarded and you have to take things apart and deal with them one by one.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

