It Could Be The Cold Medicine but This Moment Is Feeling Surreal

October 3, 2007 at 2:47 pm 39 comments

Last night after spending most of the day on the couch sleeping, (I’ve caught the plague) I went to school to take a math test(Bleah). The day was not a good day. I got home and checked my email and one from the WILD ROSE PRESS editor who has been reading the full manuscript of HOW MUCH YOU WANT TO BET? She told me she’d get back to me on Nov. 1st. My first thought was jebus, she hated it that much she shot off the rejection letter. Then I read the subject line.

Can you guess what it said?

CONTRACT OFFER!!!!

SQUEE!! So today through the runny nose, the coughing, and feeling like my chest is on fire I’m going to be singing I’M GOING TO BE PUBLISHED!

SQUEE!!

Celebrate with me folks in the comments.

Blog amended to add:

Three months back I decided to try submitting again just to see what would happen and to my surprise the Senior Editor at WRP wanted to see a partial after reviewing the Q and S. Again sick as a dog I sent it in and held my breath for three months until I heard from her. She directed me to another editor who would end up reading my partial and later my full. In the beginning of September she wanted me to send her the full, I was over the moon, finding it mildly ironic that I had sent that Q&S on a whim. That couldn’t be more than two weeks ago. I fixed it up. Sent it in and expected to hear from her on Nov. 1st.

Last night I checked my e-mails and saw her name. I read the e-mail and can be honest and say until this morning the implications didn’t hit me. I’m blaming it on the Sudafed. I woke up this morning and read the e-mail again and preened over the fact she said she couldn’t put my book down until she got to the end. She asked was I interested in contracting my novel (or novella since it’s 34k words) I stayed professional and finally wrote back VERY INTERESTED. I can say I don’t feel jipped (sp?) at all for not having my phone ring with the good news. The way I sound right now MY EDITOR (yes, I have an editor now) would swear I was a man.

Well, that’s it, that’s my call story. You’ll get the rest of the details later when it’s time for me to peddle my book. From what I hear it can be months (or a year) from now.

But still go on and help me celebrate in the comments.

Entry filed under: published.

ENEMIES TOP TEN SIGNS YOU’VE JUST BEEN OFFERED A PUBLISHING CONTRACT

39 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mel Francis  |  October 3, 2007 at 3:06 pm

    YAY! I’m so happy for you! Congrats!

  • 2. Mel  |  October 3, 2007 at 3:53 pm

    Thank you! I would dance around the house if it wasn’t for the coughing spasms.

  • 3. Anonymous  |  October 3, 2007 at 4:09 pm

    Congratulations! MJ a.k.a. BettyNeelswantabe from the boards.

  • 4. Nell  |  October 3, 2007 at 5:12 pm

    Congratulations!!!!!! Hope this will be the first of many.

  • 5. Mel  |  October 3, 2007 at 5:31 pm

    Hey, BettyNeelswantabe. I’m happy to see you drop by. Subcare is a very good place to be to share the ups and downs of publishing. I’m glad today is the UPS part of it.

    How are things on the writing front with you?

  • 6. Mel  |  October 3, 2007 at 5:33 pm

    Nell, thank you. I hope so too. I’m still celebrating but in the back of my mind I’m thinking I need to get my WIP in order so that I have something else to offer up when the time comes. I realized getting published is very hard, but staying published is probably 10 times harder.

  • 7. Marianne Arkins  |  October 3, 2007 at 5:44 pm

    Congrats!! I think you’ll love it there (I know I do).

    Enjoy the ride *G*.

  • 8. Edie  |  October 3, 2007 at 5:58 pm

    Congratulations!!!! Fabulous news!

  • 9. Jess  |  October 3, 2007 at 6:03 pm

    CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! *high fives* You’re a Cherry; I knew this was coming. 😀

  • 10. Helen from Subcare  |  October 3, 2007 at 6:13 pm

    Mel,

    Never mind coughtiaracough – that is absolutely brilliant news, I’m over the moon for you – I hope you’ve toasted yourself with lemsip or something. Well done!!

    Helen from subcare

  • 11. Mel  |  October 3, 2007 at 6:18 pm

    Thanks, Edie. I’m basking in joy so all this congratualations is making me feel ten times better.

  • 12. Mel  |  October 3, 2007 at 6:25 pm

    JessT-Cherries kick ass so what else should have I expected?

  • 13. Mel  |  October 3, 2007 at 6:26 pm

    Helen-For now I’m toasting with cough medicine. I’m thinking a shot or two of whiskey won’t hurt. I hear it soothes coughes also.

  • 14. RandomRanter  |  October 3, 2007 at 8:41 pm

    Awesome!

  • 15. ct  |  October 3, 2007 at 8:58 pm

    I just found my way here from a Cherry-related blog and read your news. Congrats to you! That is fabulous.

  • 16. Jennifer Elbaum  |  October 3, 2007 at 9:25 pm

    Mega-mega-mega congrats!

    Now tell us a bit about the story!

  • 17. Mel  |  October 3, 2007 at 9:54 pm

    Jennifer-Not much to tell. The e-mail was very professional, but she did mention she couldn’t stop reading until she got to the end. (stroked the ego there a bit) And she wanted to contract me for a Miniture Rose through the Champagne (sp?) Line. Funny how a few words can change your whole life. I don’t have all the details like the the expected release date, if I’m going to keep my current title, and how intensive the revisions are going to be. But the editor wants it. That’s enough to keep me cheering until the reality hits me. Getting published is the first step and definitely not the last.

    Of course I’ll repeat all this in the amended blog.

  • 18. Mel  |  October 3, 2007 at 9:57 pm

    Thanks to CT and Random Ranter for the congrats.

    BTW, Cherries again rock!

  • 19. Kate S  |  October 3, 2007 at 11:33 pm

    CONGRATULATIONS! That’s such a great feeling, isn’t it? I’m happy for you.

    Hope the plague goes away soon. 🙂

  • 20. raine  |  October 4, 2007 at 3:13 am

    Congratulations, Mel!
    WOOOOOO!!! 😀

    I have a couple of friends who write for them.
    You’ll be in good company.
    As soon as you feel better, celebrate, girl!

  • 21. Mel  |  October 4, 2007 at 4:16 am

    Kate S-Yes, it’s a very happy feeling. For self-preservation purposes I told myself I was in for a very long wait before I sold. Guess not.

  • 22. Mel  |  October 4, 2007 at 4:18 am

    I have huge plans for Friday and Saturday. I called my Mom she said we are going to have a very expensive bottle of wine. My Dad squealed and really that was enough to let me know how important this was to him also.

  • 23. Julie Cohen  |  October 4, 2007 at 6:32 am

    Congratulations Mel!! Great news and I hope you feel better soon too.

    Hope you had the whiskey. 😉

  • 24. Fiona Harper  |  October 4, 2007 at 9:42 am

    Mel! That’s fabulous! Congratulations.

  • 25. Mel  |  October 4, 2007 at 3:31 pm

    Thanks you so much for coming by Julie. I love your blog for one and last night I had two shots of Airborne, and two shots of Nyquil last night. I am no longer feeling like I got hit by a mack truck. Progress I tell you.

  • 26. Mel  |  October 4, 2007 at 3:33 pm

    Hi, Fiona and thank you. I’m still walking on air. I know the hard work starts soon, but I’m going to hold on to this feeling.

  • 27. sandi  |  October 4, 2007 at 5:45 pm

    Mel, I just discovered your blog from your comment on Patricia Gaffney’s blog. What an amazing day to tune into someone’s blog! Just had to say congratulations–that’s wonderful news! I love your blog, love your writing, and can’t wait to see your book. Hope the Nyquil and the Airborne and the vitamin C (and yes, the whiskey) are all helping you get to the celebration point!

  • 28. Patricia W.  |  October 4, 2007 at 8:35 pm

    Congratulations, Mel! Enjoy this time..well, the time after you lose that cold!

  • 29. Mel  |  October 4, 2007 at 8:35 pm

    Thanks, Sandi. Trust me it’s not usually this lively here so you did pick a good day to stop by. Still no details or timeframe, but trust me when I know you guys will know.

  • 30. Mel  |  October 4, 2007 at 8:41 pm

    Thanks, Patricia. It must have been you sending me those good vibes that got me published.

  • 31. Anonymous  |  October 5, 2007 at 2:46 am

    Hey Melthegreatest!
    Did you announce this over at the Cherries? ‘Cause I missed it there! Wooo HOoo! COngrats!
    JulieB

  • 32. Anonymous  |  October 5, 2007 at 2:48 am

    Sorry for the double post. Trigger happy…

  • 33. Mel  |  October 5, 2007 at 4:52 am

    I’m not sure if it was okay to announce it there or even where to announce it.

    Oh, man you should have left your Cherry name.

  • 34. bettye griffin  |  October 5, 2007 at 1:23 pm

    Mel, I’m so happy for you! May this be only the beginning of a long and fruitful career for you.

  • 35. Mel  |  October 5, 2007 at 4:11 pm

    Thanks, Bettye.

  • 36. Allie Boniface  |  October 5, 2007 at 8:26 pm

    Congrats!!! I am so excited for you – isn’t it the most wonderful feeling in the world?????!!!!!

  • 37. Mel  |  October 5, 2007 at 8:43 pm

    Yes, Allie, it is. I cheer every time I think about it.

  • 38. Stephanie  |  October 8, 2007 at 1:57 pm

    Sorry I’m so late to drop by. This is utterly fabulous! So happy for you!!!!!!!!

  • 39. Mel  |  October 8, 2007 at 7:37 pm

    Thanks, Stephanie. I always say better late than never.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

