ENEMIES

October 2, 2007 at 9:36 pm 2 comments

Above all things, never be afraid. The enemy who forces you to retreat is himself afraid of you at that very moment.
Andre Maurois (1885 – 1967)

Right now I’m hoping this is true. This will make it day 3 I’ve slept on my couch. Cowardly, I know to give my room up for a spider, but you haven’t seen this sucker. To be honest I’m use to Daddy Long legs, and worst, ones with huge butts and red or yellow markings, a sign of death if bitten. But this particular spider I saw Sunday night crawling down my wall was small, but had furry legs. My initial reaction was to scream, so I did. I tried to step on it and screamed louder when I missed and it tried to crawl on me. I’ve not since seen the outfit I had on. Not sure where I threw them.

But that’s not it. Monday night typing away on my computer something tells me to look to my left. I do and catch the scream in my throat. Strategies are running through my head, because this spider has to die. I find the nearest shoe while the damn thing is lounging on my window sill, right next to my bed. I aim and it feigns left, I scream again because I miss, and I know my finger is probably looking tasty. But the spider doesn’t strike. It turns around on all six furry legs and makes eye contact with me. I can see the fluorescent green of it’s eyes. The threat is there, “I’ll be back when you are sleeping soundly.”

So what do I do, I go to Wally World and blast my room with Black Flag, I go outside and kill off whole ecosystems with it. I haven’t seen the sucker, but I know it’s waiting for me when I least expect it. For now we’re at an impasse and I’ll sleep on the couch until I either see it crawling on my wall again or I see it’s dead carcass.

I’m serious, the damn thing made eye contact with me where I’m from that’s as good as fighting words.

Entry filed under: enemies, not sure what to label this as.

IN THE BEGINNING. . .rambling was created It Could Be The Cold Medicine but This Moment Is Feeling Surreal

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kate S  |  October 3, 2007 at 11:35 pm

    LOL, oh dear. Is it one of those little “jumpy spiders?” That’s what my daughter and I call those little ones that won’t die and keep jumping at you.

    Shiver…

  • 2. Mel  |  October 4, 2007 at 12:09 am

    Yes, I think so. It wouldn’t squish under the assault of the shoe. I won’t say I think I’ve got it only to wake up with it on my face.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

