TOP TEN SIGNS THAT YOU’RE A WRITING MOTHER

September 26, 2007 at 3:36 pm 12 comments


In the process of getting my full ready I realized I’m not a regular writer. I am a Superwriter, because when plan to sit my butt in front of a computer I must be prepared to become a crisis manager, a cook, a mediator, a referee, a screaming banshee. Here are the top ten signs that you are a writing mother.

1. You have stretch marks to prove it. And you still think it’s okay to call the extra pounds you’ve gained baby weight.

2. Quiet time? What is that?

3. In the daytime hours of your writing schedule you are interrupted to solve disputes, find socks, pour juice, cook dinner, wipe pee from toilet (this is if you have a little boy).

4. You’ve been forced to stop writing that sex scene, because your kid knows how to read and they are reading every word over your shoulder.

5. For the past month clean house has been on your to-do list

6. All your characters do not have children, because you know there is nothing romantic about someone knocking on your door asking, what are you doing? or worst what’s that noise?, when you are half naked.

7. You decide to dedicate a book to your mother, apologizing for all the things you did as a kid, and hope beyond hope that karma really doesn’t exist.

8. Your kids know the blood or fire only interruption rule.

9. You either write between the hours of 5-7 a.m. or 9-11 p.m.

10. Quiet time? What is that?

Entry filed under: top ten signs.

THE END REASONS TO ABANDON A STORY

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. AJ Chase  |  September 26, 2007 at 7:57 pm

    I love this post. I have small ones too and it really is like that. Especially the clean house being on my list of things to do. I told Mike, my husband, that when I publish this particular book I’m working on I’m going to dedicate it to him for not caring that I’d rather write than clean. But my six year old always tells me, “Mom, this place is so dirty how can you find anything?” Oy. You’re six and yet you can still find your sassy little attitude so all is not lost yet. 😉

  • 2. Mel  |  September 26, 2007 at 10:44 pm

    I have an 8 year and I know she’s going to hate me in a couple of years. I ask her to clean up after herself for goodness sakes. How dare I?

    And my 3 year old son when I ask him to do the same he looks at me and says, “your kidding.” or something to that affect.

  • 3. Kate Diamond  |  September 27, 2007 at 3:53 am

    Great post! I don’t have kids, but I often feel swamped by my day job commitments. At least, technically, I can leave those at the door (although I did just spend 14 hours at work. Ugh. No energy left over to write).

  • 4. Mel  |  September 27, 2007 at 1:45 pm

    14 hours? I’d be brain dead which I usually am after work and school. So I understand. At least I can lie to myself and say I had free time in between leaving work and starting school at night.

  • 5. Patricia W.  |  September 27, 2007 at 3:22 pm

    Guaranteed the interruptions come right when you’re in the zone, the writing is flowing and you’re writing that passage that is going to make this book sing. As soon as you say, “What?!” (I mean, “Yes, baby, what can I do for you?”) every thought flies out your head and you have no idea what to write next.

  • 6. Mel  |  September 27, 2007 at 3:30 pm

    They always come at the most unopporune moments. My theory is kids keep you honest or on the brink to becoming an alcoholic. Because some days you are going to NEED a glass of wine.

  • 7. Samara Leigh  |  September 28, 2007 at 3:14 am

    “You’ve been forced to stop writing that sex scene, because your kid knows how to read and they are reading every word over your shoulder.”

    Too funny. And too true. LOL

  • 8. liz fenwick  |  September 28, 2007 at 3:27 am

    This post is so true…..love it.

    thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂

  • 9. Mel  |  September 28, 2007 at 4:01 am

    Samara, this little truth dawned on me the first time I was trying to ignore, no, I mean focus on my writing while the kids were in the room. My daughter is always interested in what I’m writing. I found it endearing until she asked me,
    Daughter: “What’s O-R-G–“
    Me: “Get out of my room.”

  • 10. Mel  |  September 28, 2007 at 4:02 am

    Liz, no problem. I’m always trying to find other blogs I can get addicted to.

  • 11. Marianne Arkins  |  September 30, 2007 at 5:12 pm

    Oh, so funny… I’m also a SAHM homeschooling mom, so I don’t get breaks. Ever.

    I’m up at 4 a.m. Wahoo!!

  • 12. Mel  |  September 30, 2007 at 6:28 pm

    4 a.m. Bless your little heart.

    I love the school system. It gets the little buggers out of the house. I love my kids and I love my sanity. I cannot keep it if my kids are underfoot 24/7. It’s the sibling rivarly that drives me nuts. The words, “But I’m not touching you.” Can start a war in my house.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

