ISN’T IT IRONIC?

September 19, 2007 at 5:36 pm 4 comments

People who know me, the real Melissa, know I am not what you can consider chipper, cheery, or even jovial. Most times my outlook on the future of the world is bleak. If it wasn’t illegal I’d have pegged cheerleaders with bb guns to shut them up during football games in my youth. All that rah,rah, and go, go, chants interrupted my concentration on the game. Or calling the ref a nincompoop under my breath. Even now I cannot sit in the room with my children while they are watching Sprout, Hannah Montana, or the like. It drives me bleeping crazy.

Yet, I find humor in everything and I write romance. Not sure of the connection. Or if it’s my subconscious trying to save me from myself. All this made me think of why I love I SAID NEVER and why this is the book of my heart. (The death knell for most books in this industry, but screw it, I’m still going to submit it.)

Phoenix has a bleak outlook on life and the one running theme I’m finding is that every one around her does things for her with good intentions. She hates it. She lives by the standard that good intentions paved the road to hell. I’m sure you’ve guessed by now she wasn’t a cheerleader in high school.

That’s one part of my personality I gave to my character(oh, and she hates mornings.) No, she is not a Mary Sue. I’ve never found math or conformity, comforting. That’s all Phoenix, but I do find it ironic that people who say their characters are nothing like them, really believe that lie. No matter how you try, each character you write is a part of you, is a piece of what makes you who you are. I give my characters a piece of me to understand them in the beginning. I have to see something within myself to want to write about my characters. At the half-way point all bets are off and I’m invested in the story for the simple fact I have to get to the end.

To circle back around, (or at least make this post seem like it has a purpose), do you find in your stories characters who are more like you than others (character traits)? Or more like who you used to be?

The Girls in the Basement sends you things and it’s not a coincidence. Some times you just might take you longer to realize why this story, in that moment, made you write it.

As usual a curious question.

Edited to Add: (since I refuse to do another post)

Will Write for Wine is my new addiction. Two fabulous authors, Lani Diane Rich and Samantha Graves aka C.J. Barry, have teamed up and created the funniest podcast on writing and wine and every thing else under the sun. Really listen to one with a glass of wine if you can and you’ll believe me. They’ll answer writing questions, update you on their own writing, and “D block”, as they phrased it, is alone worth listening to this podcast for. I’ll warn you though with the podcast on comedy have paramedics on hand. Why are you still reading? Go download some shows. You’ll thank me later.

Entry filed under: characterization, writing.

INSPIRATION PSST, I HAVE GOOD NEWS

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jess  |  September 19, 2007 at 7:38 pm

    Hi! It’s JessT from Cherry Forums. I didn’t realize you were doing 70Days, too. Or that you had a blog. That’s awesome. Good luck with I SAID NEVER. 🙂

  • 2. Mel  |  September 19, 2007 at 8:10 pm

    Hey, a fellow Cherry. Thanks for stopping by.

    There’s only one day left of the 70 days and I have to say this helped me get my writing done. Writing every day put me into the mind frame that I have to finish if for no other reason, but to save face.

  • 3. Patricia W.  |  September 20, 2007 at 6:23 pm

    I’d say my characters have a piece of me. Sometimes it’s the me I used to be, sometimes the me I am now, and sometimes the me I see myself becoming. It might be one small aspect but there’s some part of me in every one.

    I too think writers aren’t completely truthful on this point.

  • 4. Mel  |  September 20, 2007 at 10:12 pm

    “Sometimes the me I see myself becoming.”

    That’s a good observation Patricia, because I can attest to wanting to let things go out of my control. I want to feel like a sex goddess. I want to be the type of Mom my kids won’t stuff in a nursing home.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

