A KICK IN THE PANTS

September 16, 2007 at 10:59 pm 5 comments

Thanks for the words of encouragement, for the ones I received here and the other writing forums I frequent. The 24 hours have passed and I’m done wallowing. If nothing else this rejection is going to force me to step my game up. One of the main things I focused on in the rejection was the editor’s point my grammar sucks. I have to agree, though I hate to. It would be nice to say everything she said was groundless to make myself feel better. But where would that get me? She also pointed out my writing is jarring in some parts. Again have to agree. THOUGHT I HATE TO.

So what are my plans now?

To submit of course. No one ever said writers are sane. I’ve been reading Line by Line off and on. Right now I think I should get through the book and then break out my highlighter. Also I’m going through my fourth book and picking out spots of writing where I know I can do better. I have to put my all into this writing thing or else why in the hell am I wasting my time?

As they say, onwards and upwards.

Entry filed under: inspiration, publishing woes, rejection, writing woes.

OUCH AND SELF-DOUBT DAMN BAT CAVE

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. raine  |  September 17, 2007 at 4:40 am

    Babe, if you can recover your resolve in 24 hours, you’ve got a nice, thick hide and the ambition to make it.
    If you’ve gotten feedback to work with, go at it.
    And if you really want it, don’t give up.
    Onward.

  • 2. Mel  |  September 17, 2007 at 2:03 pm

    I can’t say it’s recovery and resolve, it’s pure stubborness and the perfectionist in me. I want to get it right and make it good. My name and reputation is on the line. I don’t want to put something out there I can’t be proud of or know I could have done better with the knowlegde of craft I have right now.

  • 3. Patricia W.  |  September 17, 2007 at 6:01 pm

    One book that I hear recommended all the time is Self-Editing for Fiction Writers by Renni Browne and Dave King. I don’t have a copy so I’m not sure if it addresses your issues but I see it recommended so much, I figured I throw it out as a possibility.

    Another possibility is hooking up with a critique partner who is strong in grammar and the mechanics where you’re not as strong. Or, hiring an editing service.

  • 4. Edie  |  September 18, 2007 at 6:15 pm

    Patricia’s suggestion is the same as mine. I’ve read Self Editing for Fiction Writers twice. It’s on my bookshelf above my computer.

    It’s awesome that the editor commented on why she rejected your ms. She must have seen something promising in your writing to do so. It’s much easier for them to send form Rs.

  • 5. Mel  |  September 18, 2007 at 8:13 pm

    I was bummed at first, but then I realized I just got a critique on my writing, from an editor. How cool is that?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

