OUCH AND SELF-DOUBT

September 15, 2007 at 9:36 pm 13 comments

I received a rejection today. The sting of it has jolted me out of the writing zone I had going for me. It had feedback. Something at one point of time I really wanted, but right this second I would have settled for a form “r”. I can’t remember if she had anything good to say. God, please have something good to say in it when I go back to read it another day (year).

For right now every time I read something I wrote I can hear that ugly little voice telling me yousuckyousuckyousuck.

There is no brave face in this post. Maybe tomorrow. I do get 24 hours to wallow, right? Check back tomorrow.

On the bright side. I have a new label for posts.

Ouch!

Entry filed under: ouch, rejection.

ARISTOCRATIC TITLE AND TV A KICK IN THE PANTS

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Allie Boniface  |  September 16, 2007 at 12:15 am

    Kick that ugly little voice to the curb and keep on writing. It’s one rejection, from one person. I have over 100 rejection letters in a folder that I’ve saved over the years. And now I’m published. With really good reviews and people who love my writing.

    You know the difference between a published writer and an unpublished one? The published one kept persevering and didn’t let those letters get to her. Too many people give up on their dreams. Don’t be one of them.

  • 2. Marianne Arkins  |  September 16, 2007 at 8:56 am

    Rejections only mean that you’ve accomplished enough as a writer to begin submitting– most people don’t even get THAT far! That’s amazing!

    For encouragement, read Stephen Kin’s book “On Writing” (where he talks about needing a stake to hang all his rejections on the wall) or check out this site.

    And, don’t let anyone tell you you’re not good enough. I second Allie’s comment: I’ve got a pile of rejections, too. But I now have eight contracted stories with The Wild Rose Press, and my novel just got a contract with Samhain.

    It will happen if you persevere!

  • 3. bettye griffin  |  September 16, 2007 at 1:25 pm

    Mel,
    When you’re feeling objective, take out that letter and read it as carefully as you would dissect a frog in biology class. A rejection with feedback can be a wonderful thing, and it’s better than a form letter. Take the comments to heart, and learn from them.

    P.S. Published authors get rejected, too, although not everyone is willing to admit it.

  • 4. Mel  |  September 16, 2007 at 2:08 pm

    Thanks guys. I thought I could handle getting a rejection without blinking. Boy was I wrong. I gave myself these 24 hours and I’m up writing. I’ve re-read the feedback in the rejection and all her points were valid. I think that’s what made it hurt the most, because they were the same things I struggle with my writing and don’t know how to fix.

    As they say onwards and upwards.

  • 5. Mel  |  September 16, 2007 at 2:11 pm

    Allie, I’m kicking that voice in the gonads because whatever is my week spots in writing I can fix.

  • 6. Mel  |  September 16, 2007 at 2:12 pm

    Marianne- “Even Dr. Seuss was not above the scathing rejection, “…too different from other juveniles on the market to warrant its selling.” “

    I found this one hilarious. Also I read Steven King “On Writing” his road to publication was hard won and by the time he got to the part of how much “Carrie” sold I was cheering him on, even though the rest was history already.

    And go you. 8 contracted stories. You must be on busy woman.

  • 7. Mel  |  September 16, 2007 at 2:16 pm

    Bette- Yesterday was a bad day. No way could I have been objective. Mentally I knew I sent out submission and would get feedback, but I wasn’t prepared for a rejection with feedback that was so on point.

    So right now I’m revising my fourth book with the suggestions in mind.

  • 8. Patricia W.  |  September 17, 2007 at 2:33 am

    Mel, I’m still a newbie who hasn’t even submitted a full-length ms yet but if there are things you struggle with, and now that has been confirmed for you, focus on improving in those areas. WHILE YOU CONTINUE TO WRITE!

    There are loads of online courses taught by published authors for little money. Find one that addresses your issues. But most of all, KEEP WRITING!

  • 9. Mel  |  September 17, 2007 at 2:57 pm

    The thing that bugs me is it’s the mechanics of writing that holds me back the most. Not believable characters, but grammar. I’ve memorized Strunk and White by now and it still has clicked for me yet. But as God as my witness . . .you get the drift.

  • 10. Edie  |  September 18, 2007 at 6:11 pm

    Mel, I’m with Bettye about everyone getting rejections. Also, do you have a CP? I would be floundering without my awesome CPs.

    Not sure if I mentioned this before, but have you looked at http://www.writeattitude.net? It’s an inspirational website for writers that 7 other writers and I started for just these kind of moments.

  • 11. Nell  |  September 18, 2007 at 7:16 pm

    Hugs, you are a good writer or else you wouldn’t have recieved any comments. A busy editor took time from her day to help you because she sees promise in your work.

  • 12. Mel  |  September 18, 2007 at 8:15 pm

    Edie-I did have a cp, but life keeps getting in the way for her. I’m looking for a new one have yet to have any takers.

    I’m going to check out the site.

  • 13. Mel  |  September 18, 2007 at 8:17 pm

    Nell-I had to give myself some time to see the good in the rejection. You just can’t do that right off the bat. That’s just crazy.

    BTW, Thanks for the hugs.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

