I’M GETTING OLD

September 13, 2007 at 4:11 pm 9 comments

Well, today is the anniversary of when I first started to really write. It only makes me feel old as a writer. Can’t call myself a newbie anymore. Can’t call myself published yet. I refused to say pre-published author. It sounds too much like pre-owned car when we all know it’s a euphemism for used car. No offense to those who use the term.

I’m in the place where your too old to call your boyfriend, boyfriend. Not old enough to call him your lover, so you have to settle for significant other.

So what’s the name for the type of stage I’m at in my writing career? And what do you call yourself?

Just a curious question.

Entry filed under: not sure what to label this as.

9/11 ARISTOCRATIC TITLE AND TV

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. bettye griffin  |  September 13, 2007 at 6:01 pm

    You are an aspiring writer. I made up my mind to be a professional writer in the early 1980s. I did have some nonfiction pieces published, but it was many years (1998) before my first novel saw print. I never gave up.

  • 2. Mel  |  September 13, 2007 at 7:24 pm

    I don’t think I can stop writing if I wanted to. And the lie I tell myself right now is some day I’ll be published. Then when that some day comes I’ll tell myself another lie, but I know deep down inside why I keep doing this crazy thing called writing.

  • 3. Edie  |  September 13, 2007 at 11:02 pm

    Congratulations on your anniversary! I don’t care for the “pre-published” term. I put “writer” on my tax returns to make the deduction, so that’s what I am. Even if I don’t get paid for it yet.

    Remember the old commercial that said “I’m not getting older, I’m getting better”? That holds true with writing. I bet you’re a better writer than you were a year ago. I know I am.

  • 4. Mel  |  September 13, 2007 at 11:26 pm

    I like the way you are thinking. I’m better writer than I was last week. Progress my darlings is the name of the game.

  • 5. Kate Diamond  |  September 14, 2007 at 4:22 am

    I say “writer.” I’ve been a writer all my life… only now, I have an interest in finishing (and publishing) my work.

  • 6. Mel  |  September 14, 2007 at 4:29 am

    Yes, I’ve been a writer since I was knee high to a grasshopper.

    :)I’ve always wanted to say that, but anyway I think the difference comes when you go after writer like it’ll be your career. A BIG difference.

  • 7. Allie Boniface  |  September 14, 2007 at 10:12 pm

    You’re a writer. Period. 🙂

  • 8. Marianne Arkins  |  September 16, 2007 at 8:58 am

    Yay, Allie! Tell it like it is.

    Yep.. you’re a writer. Gah — I’ve been seriously writing for ((thinks hard)) almost seven years, and only got my first contract a year ago.

    Time and perseverance. Hang in there!

  • 9. Mel  |  September 16, 2007 at 2:01 pm

    That’s what I plan to do. The title is just me wondering what I am. I’ve decided on Aspiring Author. I don’t care if I’m published or not I’ll still be aspiring because who knows in this game of publishing.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

