EEK!

September 6, 2007 at 3:19 pm 4 comments

Well, this morning I received an e-mail from the editor who requested my partial on HOW MUCH YOU WANT TO BET? She wanted to know if I had any questions. I don’t know what to ask and now I’m freaking out because I know they are reading what I’ve written. So now I’m freaking out even more because I want to re-read the first three chapters I sent. What if I find a mistake I didn’t catch? What if I realize I started the story at the wrong spot? What if I didn’t put enough dialogue and I don’t catcth the editors attention? I should not have left that flashback scene in? Isn’t that a newbie mistake? What if I re-read my first sentence and realize it sucks?

I don’t have the nerves for this. I’m second guessing myself. I had fooled myself into believing I was ready to send out my books into the world.

Someone please come save me from myself. My neurosis is showing.

Okay, I looked and realized I did make a mistake. I wish I hand a handle on commas. EEK! Well, anyway, I’ll let you guys see for yourself. Here’s the first paragraph.

Neil Sullivian shook back the mass of curls that crowned her head, stared herself down in the mirror, and said through gritted teeth, “It’s just a date.” Amazingly, pigs could fly too. If honest with herself (,) Neil would call her “preparation” for this date avoidance. Being done meant being ready. The prospect didn’t excite her, but if Neil shook her hair back one more time, she’d might suffer from a whiplash. She stepped from the mirror to stand in front of the closet quietly cursing herself and her damn pride. It was constantly at war with her common sense, but a deal was a deal.

Entry filed under: publishing woes, stomach in throat.

SWEATY UPDATE, part four IT’S FRIDAY AND THANK YOU GOD!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mel Francis  |  September 7, 2007 at 3:16 pm

    darlin, this is GOOD news! don’t freak out. this is what you’re working toward!

    Congrats!

  • 2. Mel  |  September 7, 2007 at 5:21 pm

    Thanks and I think the process for me is to freak out and then I’m back to my normal self. The editor told me I should hear from her by the 20th. So everything is crossed at the moment . . .

  • 3. Eileen  |  September 7, 2007 at 5:52 pm

    Ah the freak out stage. I know this well. Fingers crossed for you.

  • 4. Mel  |  September 7, 2007 at 6:00 pm

    Eileen, I feel so much better knowing I’m not the only person who does this.

    And thanks.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

