PUBLISHING AKA SOUL-SUCKING BUSINESS

September 4, 2007 at 4:25 pm 9 comments

Jenny Crusie termed this phrase on her and Bob’s writing workshop and today I felt the need to expound on the idea with a twist.

Up until now I’ve been able to banish the other side of writing out of my mind. Until today I’ve forgotten I’m writing I SAID NEVER for an audience. Once the flood gates were open my mind exploded and I realized I’m going to need an agent. This book doesn’t fit any Harlequin guidelines and from my understanding they are the only publisher willing to accept unagented submissions (Synopsis and first three chapters). All others want you to send a query letter only.

Then the second realization hit me, I’m entering into the point of no return of “this isn’t a hobby zone.” I can be honest and say I’ve taken my writing seriously since January this year. And I can also be honest in admitting this year the need to write a damn good book has out weighted wanting to be published just yet.

I guess I’ve reached a point where I feel ready to put myself out there in this publishing world. No holds bar. Queries galore. All to o find my place in this business and hope upon hope I can survive the pitfalls by remembering why I started to write in the first place. And not let the downs suck the soul out of me.

This is a scary place for me and now I have to push it back into the nether regions of my mind so I can finish this book and worry later about the fact I’m going to need an agent. The other scary thing is I’m really starting to see this “writing gig” as a career.

For the writers who read my blog, at what point did it hit you that you were serious about writing? When was your point of no return?

Entry filed under: inspiration, publishing woes.

A DEEPER MEANING SWEATY UPDATE, part four

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Patricia W.  |  September 5, 2007 at 6:27 pm

    Mel, it was last year when I sold my first short story. First written, first sold. Woo-hoo! But even then, at the end of the year, after a few more sales, I knew I wanted more. So this I racheted my efforts way up and dove into writing my first novel. You know the rest, but there’s no turning back.

  • 2. Mel  |  September 5, 2007 at 8:07 pm

    Yes, selling would be a point of no return for most people. 🙂 And deciding to write a novel is a huge step I wish you the best.

    Hmm, I wonder if they are different points of no returns in a writers career. Getting an agent is one for me, but the last one I had was deciding to write my second book.

  • 3. Alyssa Goodnight  |  September 5, 2007 at 10:27 pm

    I can’t really say when I first came to that conclusion. Maybe after spending all that time writing and rewriting and revising and perfecting and tweaking. If I wasn’t serious about it, then what the heck was I doing?

  • 4. Kate Diamond  |  September 6, 2007 at 12:57 am

    Actually, I’m in the midst of avoiding my rewrites, even though I self-imposed a deadline (October 26th).

    I’d love to take my writing more seriously, but I just don’t know how to motivate myself.

    Suggestions?

  • 5. Mel  |  September 6, 2007 at 3:52 am

    Your in revising hell like me? Okay, I see the reason for lack of motivation. The whole process for me is overwhelming so I break my book into parts. I polish the first three chapters that includes adding in things that are still fresh in my mind from the last few chapters. I look for character insights I might have missed and I let myself get caught back up in the story.

    If not I collage.

    If not I play soltaire for a few days and then I start to feel guilty for ignoring my WIP.

    If that doesn’t work I write something else until I can think of ways to fix what I think is broken or find that feeling of wanting to write on the old book again. I’m not published so I can do this and it not be to my detriment.

    Hopefully, that helps.

  • 6. Edie  |  September 6, 2007 at 6:47 pm

    Mel, I’ve been serious about my writing for too many years to say here. About publishers taking partials. Berkley does. Not sure if NAL does. If you belong to RWA, their list of Publishers has this information. Karen A. Fox or Passionate Pen might have this too. Deb Werksman at Sourcebooks will take the entire ms. as an attachment.

    Good luck!

  • 7. Mel  |  September 6, 2007 at 7:17 pm

    Thank you! I’ll definitely check out RWA market and agent list.

  • 8. Edie  |  September 6, 2007 at 8:30 pm

    I forgot Kensington! I’m pretty sure Kate Duffy and Hilary Sares wants the entire ms. with cover letter. Or at least the first 3 chapters. No synopsis.

  • 9. Mel  |  September 6, 2007 at 9:24 pm

    I checked out Kennigston on RWA and the actual site and I found conflicting instructions. Well, anyway I’m going to go for the Dafina line and that’s Selena James as the editor.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

