BOOK LOVER aka book addict

August 31, 2007 at 2:10 pm 2 comments

Most if not all other writer’s say if you want to write you better read. If I never write another fictional word I can tell you I won’t ever stop reading. I love words. There is no other compulsion besides writing that I love more. If you don’t get a rush when you walked into a book store then you don’t know what I’m talking about. If your ideal Christmas or Birthday gift has never been a gift certificate to B&N or Borders then this post has lost you. If you never bargained with yourself before you walked into a book store, telling yourself you’ll only spend X amount of dollars, then you’ll never understand.

But that’s okay, because I can convert you eventually. I’ve damn near converted my whole family and the people who work with me. I’ve donated books for the cause. I’ve parted with Robert B. Parker’s, Jennifer Crusie’s, Sue Grafton’s, Jude Deveraux’s, John Sandford’s, just to make people understand. (All with threats to bodily harm if they thought I didn’t want the books back.) If you didn’t notice Nora Roberts wasn’t part of the cause. I’ll be damned to part with La Nora. I can direct those who’ve (God forbid) never heard of her to the library. And if her name doesn’t ring a bell then there is no hope for humanity.

And not so sadly I can admit that in 5 years all but once I’ve thrown away books. Let me tell you it was the hardest thing I had to do. I comforted myself with the knowledge that the books were unreadable. If they had more than ten pieces of tape holding the pages and book together than the book needed to be retired. Still the hardest thing I had to do.

I can also attest to the fact the main reason I’m going to next year’s conference is for the BOOKS. The side benefit is meeting and talking to writers. But trust me when I say I’m bringing empty luggage next year.

I am a confessed book lover. Don’t hate me because I’m literate.

Have a great three day weekend. I’m sure you can guess what I’ll be doing.

Entry filed under: books, inspiration, writing.

THE DEVIL IS IN THE DETAILS A DEEPER MEANING

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rosa  |  September 1, 2007 at 12:22 am

    Came here from the baddater blog.

    There are so many of us!

    I have this great used book store near me where I can buy copies of paperbacks for $1 or $2 so I can, say, pick up five copies of Faking It to give to people and not lose track of my own hardback copy. You must be very convincing with the threats to always get yours back.

  • 2. Mel  |  September 1, 2007 at 12:59 am

    Not really. With family I go to their house and take back my book. I’m very serious about getting my books back. I’m like Dog the Bounty Hunter except I repo books. Bad analogy but you get my drift.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

