THE DEVIL IS IN THE DETAILS

August 30, 2007 at 3:43 pm 2 comments

I’m sure when you looked at this image words, feelings, and maybe smells cropped up in your brain and it made you think of a rainy day. If you ever lived where tornado season is a season within itself this picture probably took you back to days where you had to sleep in a bath tub or an underground shelter. (With me, my mom had us sleeping in the tub.)

Well, anyway, last night having fought exhaustion from work, school, and 105 degree weather, I turned on my swamp cooler and could smell rain. The best way I can describe it is through my own memories. It’s a smell I recognize and put with elementary school. Days of playing Chinese jump rope, double dutch, and easily made best friends. Rain to me smells like wet blacktop, reminds me of connect four, checkers, and squeaky shoes. In my mind I can see blurry chalk lines of hop scotch games, bold white lines painted on asphalt, and muddy grass. I get all this from one smell.

Sensory details are so important in bringing a reader into your story. It’s probably why I love Nora Roberts. After I read the first three pages of JEWELS OF THE SUN, I was hooked. I was in Ireland and experiencing it just like Jude Francis the character in that book.

I want to achieve the same thing. So far only my CP and my Mom have traveled down the journey of how I see the world through memories i.e. sensory details.

The point of this post, let your stories come alive. And for me, today is going to be a good day as I think about my days in elementary. Nothing like the smell of rain to make me remember how good and simple things can be.

Entry filed under: inspiration, writing.

BURNING UP THE SHEETS BOOK LOVER aka book addict

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ann Aguirre  |  August 30, 2007 at 4:58 pm

    She’s a wonderful writer, isn’t she? Love the picture!

  • 2. Mel  |  August 30, 2007 at 5:05 pm

    I love La Nora. And this morning I woke up and knew it was time to get up but there was no sun. I walked outside to something similar to this picture and had to post it.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

