SWEAT UPDATE, part tres

August 24, 2007 at 10:12 pm 7 comments

I’m glad to announce last night I wrote THE END on my fourth novel and being who I am I’ve made small revisions up to chapter 4. Given there are close to 20 chapters I have a ways to go. But I officially have 70k words just shy of my 100k word goal. Once again I must say I kick ass. Now for the hard part, revising.

Revising is one of the most hair pulling process of writing for me. It the process where craft meets creativity. To be completely frank the first draft is pulling a rabbit out of my, well, I’m b-sing my way half way through the novel. My father sells real estate so it’s kind of ingrained into my genetics to make things up as I go.

When I’ve written THE END I finally have a map of my story. I can be honest and say this is my downfall. I still have yet to convince myself what I’ve written isn’t set in stone, but that’s another post.

Now, theoretically, I know who my character’s are, their role, their upbringing, each main character’s motivation, how they arc in the story line and why I was meant to write this story at this time in my life. I just have to find it out of 70, 000 words of gibberish that resembles a book. At this point I’m turning Audrey Hepburn into a lady.

This is the time for me where I break out the charts, attack my cork board and put down plot points i.e. turning points, where I buy a lifetime supply of index cards and record what happened in each chapter to make sure my pacing isn’t off, make sure I left clues to who really committed the crime, make sure there is sexual tension, conflict. Last but not least,I have to fix all the sentences that makes absolutely no sense. The ones where I ask myself if I’d been drinking that particular night. Sticking in words I could swear on Holy Bible I put in. I mean “the Holy Bible.”

See the crux?

But now at least the rabbit is safe until my next novel.

Entry filed under: the process, writing.

THE END-ways to not panic NO NEWS IS GOOD NEWS

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Allie Boniface  |  August 25, 2007 at 3:51 pm

    Hey, congrats on finishing! That’s a huge accomplishment. And now you have something substantial to work with when you revise 🙂

  • 2. Mel  |  August 25, 2007 at 5:59 pm

    Thanks, Allie. Some times I think the process will get easier but I know I’ just fooling myself.

    Either way I love writing and I love seeing what I’ve done come together. I’m just waiting for a publisher to see the same.

  • 3. Patricia W.  |  August 27, 2007 at 3:45 pm

    Congratulations! Take a deep breath. Inhale…and…exhale! Now get busy with those revisions so we’ll be able to read this baby soon.

  • 4. Mel  |  August 27, 2007 at 6:20 pm

    I took a deep breath and decided to flesh out scenes first and make corrections as I go.

    After that I’m going to print out the story and tear it apart to make sure it reads seamlessly.

    One thing at a time is what I’m going to try to live by.

  • 5. Jennifer Elbaum  |  August 27, 2007 at 7:21 pm

    Congrats on finishing!

    Are you a plotter or a pantser?

  • 6. Mel  |  August 27, 2007 at 11:41 pm

    A panster through and through.

  • 7. Jennifer Elbaum  |  August 28, 2007 at 12:15 pm

    me too!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

