SWEATY UPDATE, part duex

August 16, 2007 at 10:52 pm 4 comments

I’m at 56k words. So proud of myself. I haven’t had that many words since my first novel. I’m kicking ass.

Now I can be honest and say I’m not going to make it to 100k, but then again I might surprise myself. The ending is so clear for me that I’m not sure if the words I’ll be writing will just be filling up space. I can say I can wrap this story up with 85k and call it finished until I layer and then layer some more. I have the bones and I’m working up the spine to get to the skull and right now I don’t need muscle tissue or skin. I’ll get to those when it’s time to look at the story with a critical eye and see what I’ve missed in the process.

I think that’s just how I work. And right now I’m trying not to think of my book as a product, something saleable, because then I’ll realize I shot myself in the foot by writing the darn thing in first person.

I’ll save that worry for another day otherwise I’m writing to the end and I’ll be done before Sept. 20th just not with 100k. It’s not failure and it’s not compromise it’s my fourth completed novel. How about that for apples?

Entry filed under: writing woes.

NEVER LOOK BEFORE YOU LEAP PHATIC COMMUNION

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Patricia W.  |  August 17, 2007 at 8:44 pm

    Them some good tastin’ apples!

    Congratulations on fourth completed books! So what if you thought it was going to be 100k but it winds up being less? It’s the story readers care about.

  • 2. Mel  |  August 17, 2007 at 9:28 pm

    I’m starting to learn and accept the story comes first and the rest is just the icing on the cake.

  • 3. AJ Chase  |  August 23, 2007 at 5:33 pm

    Is there something wrong with writing in first person? Maybe that’s where I went wrong with the reject on my blog. 😉

    Good job cranking through those words. And you’re right. The story comes first.

  • 4. Mel  |  August 28, 2007 at 3:06 am

    No, writing in first person isn’t wrong just closely related to chick-lit which they say is dead. Most romances, if it’s not a series, isn’t in first person. You can write it in first person, it’s just a harder sell.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

