NEVER LOOK BEFORE YOU LEAP

August 14, 2007 at 8:26 pm 3 comments

Or maybe it’s the other way around. I’m on my way to the post office to send off my second submission for the day. The first submission was to an e-pub and the second to the holy grail of category romance. I’m not sure how I feel. I usually don’t freak out until I’m in the post office and I’m filling out my second envelope, because I can’t remember how to spell the publisher’s name or better yet assistant editor. This time my mother won’t be there to hold my hand. I don’t have a back up. So I’m sure you can see my panic a mile away.

The old good angel and bad angel shall make an appearance I’m sure. I’m going to hold on to my “I’m a great writer” mantra though my stomach will be in knots. The whole time I’m going to be hoping not to get a form rejection this time. Then I’ll remind myself I’m not supposed to imagine the worst case scenario. Then I’ll tell the little voice to shut up because I’m freaking out here and it is not helping. Then it’ll remind me I had no nerves with the e-pub submission. I’ll remind it, it’s not the same at all, something about the whole e-mailing thing isn’t as imtimidating. Then I’ll realize I’m talking to myself.

Aah, submitting is so fun.

And no wonder people think writers are nuts.

Wish me luck.

Entry filed under: not sure what to label this as, submitting.

WRITING:making the time SWEATY UPDATE, part duex

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Daisy Dexter Dobbs  |  August 16, 2007 at 5:44 am

    Oh, boy, Mel, I can just feel those awful prickles of submission nervousness reading this post. LOL

    Now comes the waiting…which I think is even worse. :-0

    I wish you great success. May you received The Call and The Email very soon! 😀

  • 2. Mel  |  August 16, 2007 at 3:18 pm

    Yes, the waiting is worst. I’ve take up the old adage of writing more while you wait and when you get the call you can give the editor something else.

    And thanks, I hope to get the call one day too.

  • 3. Patricia W.  |  August 16, 2007 at 5:56 pm

    Mel, congratulations on getting those submissions out! Email vs. mail? Doesn’t matter. They’re gone. And yes, crossing the fingers for The Call, especially from the big guys.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

