WRITING:making the time

August 13, 2007 at 2:07 pm 2 comments

Today is the first day of school for me. Can’t you hear my joy? The summer is officially over even though next week the heat wave will be starting. I’m going to be buckled down to a desk five days a week. I have a Math class. I’ve always hated Math. You spend 10 to 15 minutes on one math problem just to solve the equation and the answer is 1 or worst undefined. And I realized I was right when I told my teachers all I needed to know was how to add, subtract, divide, and multiply. I’ve never used the square root of anything.

I digress. My schedule is going to be crazy until December. Oh, joy. I’ll be seeing my kids rarely, which I hate more than Math. With all this I need to find time to write or I’ll really go bonkers.

Did I mention I work also?

So how do I find the time through the exhaustion of work, school, kids? Those nuggets of time I’m waiting for class to start I’m scribbling on a notebook. When the teacher starts to sound robotic I’m thinking of the next scene I’m going to write. I’m probably going to dig out my digital recorder and dictate scenes while I drive. I’m going to leave my books at home. My free time is going to be spent writing. I’m going to make the time. I want to write bad enough that if all I can squeeze out of my imagination is one sentence then it’s one sentence more than I had the day before.

What it comes down to is how bad do you want to write. You need to ask yourself how important is writing to you? I can be honest enough to say the passion to write comes and goes. Right now, today, it’s important enough to me to make a commitment to continue to meet my word count goal. I’ve written enough during this summer to only have to write 1200 words a day and I have 24 hours to do it. What’s my excuse? Once again the key is making time.

Now I’m off to school. (Mind over matter) Yay me!

Entry filed under: writing.

DAY JOBS NEVER LOOK BEFORE YOU LEAP

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Patricia W.  |  August 13, 2007 at 8:28 pm

    Yay you!

    I’m with you, Mel. Finding time to write between work and kids is enough. Throw school on top of that, which requires not only going to class, but completing assignments and studying for tests? My hat’s off to you, girl!

    Stay focused. I know I am.

  • 2. Mel  |  August 13, 2007 at 8:50 pm

    I’m going to try and stay focused. The sole reason I joined the Sweat was to keep give myself motivated. Writing is so solitary and sometimes you need a cheering crowd when you’re done.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

