IN FOR A PENNY

August 9, 2007 at 4:13 pm 1 comment

I’d probably scared a few people with my last post but hey, I’m not a morning person. And when am I ever going learn never to post while in anger.

Anyway, I’ve hit 50k words in I SAID NEVER. I have to hit two more turning points. The last one was devasting for my heroine and because she hasn’t learned what’s most important in her life, she didn’t handle it well. That’s fine for me as the writer, because this leaves me more room to write. Ideally another 50k words.

This chick has stopped being open minded, but she is the product of life’s disappointments. She’s lost her faith in love, friendship, and other people in general. She has to learn a good life, a good relationship is not going to be handed to her and ignoring it or choosing to go without real love isn’t going to work either.

The third turning point is forming in my mind. She has to lose something else in her old life that she considers important.(At the moment she doesn’t realize it’s her old life. She’s still trying to make things fit back into the square peg of how she used to live.) I’m thinking her financial stability. STABILITY is the key word. Phoenix has gotten so used to her routine, she’s become a human robot.

Wake up. Go to work. Meet best friend for day’s recap.

She finds comfort in the sameness. She can’t get hurt in sameness. STABILITY means she doesn’t have to depend on anyone but herself. If things get too complicated she can cut her loses without much fuss. She doesn’t want to depend on anyone ever again. So attacking what she considers her stability is just plain mean of me, but she doesn’t know is how depressing her life really is. That’s why I’m here.

This is just rambling, forgive me. I’m trying to wrap my head around my story. I’m at the point where I’m so close to finishing I just want to be done. I’m seeing all the threads I started at the beginning of the story coming together and my theme is still somewhat elusive.

Maybe it’s humility. Or maybe it’s living and not surviving. I’ll see and I can’t wait to know what I was supposed to learn by writing this story.

Entry filed under: inspiration, writing.

ROMANTIC SUSPENSE-reason why I write it DAY JOBS

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Patricia W.  |  August 10, 2007 at 8:00 pm

    I wouldn’t have been too excited about the early AM wakeup to wrap the water hose either so I figured that was a justifiable rant.

    Congrats on hitting the midpoint of your wip!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

