VETERAN NEWBIE ON SUBBING

August 6, 2007 at 3:13 am 2 comments

I’ve said this before. I hate writing a sucknopsis. Good thing I’ve already have. Now all I have to do is go in and clean up the one I’ve written for PROTECTING DELLA. Right now it’s vague but it has the bones of the story. The first one I wrote,that I never finished, focused too much on the plot. I know it’s a romanctic suspense but the suspense needs to drive the romance and vise versa.

I’m also cleaning up the first three chapters. It comes out to 43 pages. After cutting the first chapter in half(6 pages now), I need to flesh out what I can. Or more specifically put in what the reader needs to know that I’ve cut out those first five pages. This is going to make me step back from my WIP for at least a day, but I need to get this book out the door. Otherwise it’ll sit on my hard drive forgotten until I’ve hit 100,000 words. That may be a while. Well, if I keep up with my daily word count until Sept. 20th.

That also reminds me, I haven’t heard back from Wild Rose Press yet. The publisher that asked for a partial. I’m trying not to think about it. I’m liable to send an e-mail and pissing the editor off, but I do wonder if she’d gotten it . . .

Ah, yes the point of this post. Subbing is an necesarry evil.

Ciao for now.

Entry filed under: publishing woes, writing.

A SWEATY UPDATE ROMANTIC SUSPENSE-reason why I write it

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Patricia W.  |  August 6, 2007 at 9:51 pm

    The ladies at TWRP are pretty good. If the average response time has passed, they wouldn’t mind a polite email. ‘Cuz stuff happens and maybe they didn’t get it.

    I published a Kwanzaa story with them last year. I’ve grown so much as a writer since then, I’m almost to take a look at it now.

  • 2. Mel  |  August 7, 2007 at 4:35 pm

    Looking at what you have written before is also a necessary evil. Sometimes you are amazed and sometimes you need to cry and ask yourself what and the heck was I thinking?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

