A SWEATY UPDATE

August 2, 2007 at 3:04 am 5 comments

I’m still hanging in the 70 Days of Sweat. I’m surprised, but I guess my determination to write (post conference) is still lingering. I truly needed that kick in the pants to get serious about writing again.

I digress. Since July 8th, almost a month ago I’ve added 31, 266 words to my manuscript. My word count for the week is 5,716, making my total word count 43,844. And leaving me with 56,156 left to write on I SAID NEVER.

What I’ve learned for so far:

With the first draft try to keep yourself out of the story. This means don’t tell the story let the story come through and I can guarantee you the stress to make something happen will lessen. Also don’t over analyze unless that’s your writing process.

Secondly, your voice will shine through unless you force it. It goes back to the first thing I’ve learned while doing the Sweat this week. I’m going to sound like me regardless. My character is going to have her own voice. The way she sees things and depicts them is going to be different from me. I may melt at the sight of seeing a man holding a child, but my character will cross the street because of her experiences. Don’t force it.

If you build it, they will come.

Okay, kidding.

The last thing I’ve learned for this week is that my process is as unique as my voice. What helps me write may not work for every one else. Right now, I have on my cork board the first quarter of my book. Under each Tarot card,( the ones her friend pulled for her at the beginning of the book) are related events or feelings that come up. When I’ve hit my second turning point (in the next 7,000 words or so) I’m going to add on it. To somebody else it may look like I have an obsession with bookmark post’s it. To me it’s a map of my story.

Find your process, (it may vary, or hell even change over time) but use it to get the best damn book you can.

I’ve reached my word count for the day, but I’m feeling like an overachiever so I’m off to write some more.

Entry filed under: 70 days, writing.

I’VE LOST THAT LOVE FEELING VETERAN NEWBIE ON SUBBING

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Patricia W.  |  August 3, 2007 at 3:40 pm

    My writing lessons in the last few months mirror yours.

    Congratulations on keeping your groove going!

  • 2. Karen Erickson  |  August 3, 2007 at 6:20 pm

    I wish I would’ve signed up for the 70 days of sweat…I have so much to do this month! Oh well.

    Congrats on your progress! I found you on Avery Beck’s blog – you live in Fresno? I live just above Fresno!!!!! đŸ™‚

  • 3. Mel  |  August 3, 2007 at 7:45 pm

    Yes, I live in Fresno. Small city that thinks it’s a metropolis.

    Thank you and I’m quite surprised myself at how well I’m doing.

  • 4. bettye griffin  |  August 11, 2007 at 11:35 pm

    I’m sweating right along with you!

    Bettye Griffin

  • 5. Mel  |  August 16, 2007 at 4:45 pm

    To think we only have a month and some change left, but in that time I’ve written so much. I’m going to sign up for it again when it comes around. I think it’s because there is less pressure to get a novel written in 70 than in 30 like the NaNoWriMo.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

