WHEN WRITING COMPLETE AND UTTER CRAP

July 31, 2007 at 6:06 am 1 comment

Okay, here’s the thing. I’m 40,000 into I SAID NEVER and I’ve hit that beautiful wall that every writer hits at least in once if not all of there stories. When they stop and think about what they are writing, they may even stop and re-read some of it, and think, “I’m writing drivel.” I’ve hit that wall without warning, a helmet, or knee pads.

The only solution is to keep writing until you hit a gold mine or until you cry your way to THE END. You can always fix it. Just have a shot of tequilla or Tylenol handy. It’s going to hurt either way.

So how did I get to this point?

Well, my story morphed into a romantic suspense. I’m never good with clues, at least not in the first draft. The main suspect is dead, the other suspects are family members my main character doesn’t really know and it feels like I’m writing in circles. I might as well be ending every chapter with, “I didn’t know what to do next.” My character speaking figuratively, and me, the writer, speaking literally. Oh, yes, it’s a first person romantic suspense.

WTF!!!???

I’ve hit panic mode without even realizing it. I’m going to pick myself up. Find a ladder and climb over the wall or keep writing drivel until I reach THE END or get an epiphany.

Stay tuned for further entertainment in a neuroses of a writer.

Entry filed under: rant, writing woes.

FIRST DRAFTS ARE THE HARDEST I’VE LOST THAT LOVE FEELING

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Colorfulpen  |  August 5, 2007 at 9:39 pm

    Hi Melissa,

    I came across your blog from the Sweat70 writing challenge. I found this particular post to be what I’m going through at the moment…the writing in circles. Also, the part about ending every chapter with “I didn’t know what to do next” made me laugh. I totally understand.

    Keep sweatin’! You’re doing great.

    Lynn

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

