58 DAYS TO GO…

July 24, 2007 at 6:36 am 2 comments

Another update for my 70 days of Sweat. At the moment the total word count of I SAID NEVER is 30,330. Since the 8th I’ve added 17,752 words. Right now to make it to the end all I have to do is write 1201 words a day. Since I’ve been kicking my word counts butt daily(about 2,000 words a day instead) I think by the end of the month I’ll be at 45,000 words or so. If this was the NaNoWriMo I’d be crossing the finish line before 30 days.

Now what have I learned from this so far . . .

Is how badly the need to write is helping me get to my goal of 100k words.

And that I can’t write the end of the last scene I have in my mind. I have to leave myself something to write about the next day or I’ll get stuck.

Lastly, notebooks are my friend. When I don’t have access to a computer or my kids want me to come outside and watch them wet each other I can still write even though I’m not at my computer. I can say honestly since I’ve started writing this novel only about half of it has been written straight from the brain into the computer. Having the freedom to write in the notebook and know I can always transpose it later frees up the pressure of watching my cursor blink at me when I’m stuck.

Hopefully, I won’t get fired from taking repeated breaks while at work.

Entry filed under: 70 days, writing.

THE BOY WHO LIVED DEVIL’S ADVOCATE

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mary beth  |  July 26, 2007 at 12:42 am

    CONGRATULATIONS on all the great writing, Mel!

  • 2. Mel  |  July 26, 2007 at 5:33 pm

    Thank you. I’m just glad I don’t have 10,000 words to catch up on.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

