THE RISK

July 19, 2007 at 6:45 am Leave a comment

All characters–I’ll keep it specific to romance–start their journey on page one. By the end of the book they’ll be in love, they’ll have an HEA in some way or another. But at some point in the book, way before the resolution, they take a risk on accepting themselves, on facing their fears, on love. Right now I’m at this point in my novel where the risk is no longer subconscious and most times the character will lie to themselves and say, “I can do this and not get hurt and not want something in return.”

Oh, they have so much to learn.

It’s inherent to want something in return. To have the deep seated need when you look into some one’s eyes and see what you are feeling reflected back. It what makes us humans besides our imposable thumbs. I love this point in a book–both when I’m writing it and reading it–because it’s the crest right before the roller coaster does that 50 foot drop. It’s just the beginning. The character(s) have to realize that what they hope can be, CAN BE and they have to make decisions to make it so.

As a writer this is the hardest part in the book. Can I make this believable? Will the reader walk away and still think of my hero and heroine and how they rode off into the sunset? Imagine them with children, knee deep in conflict and still be able to look at each other and think, “my god I’m so in love.”

Hopefully, what I’m writing will convey that and I wrote make a mess of it.

Entry filed under: writing woes.

SEVENTY DAYS OF SWEAT UPDATE: 70 DAYS OF SWEAT

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

