OBJECTIVITY AND RWA UPDATE

July 6, 2007 at 6:44 am 2 comments

First, I’ve found a dress. Nothing to prom dress like and not too plain where I fill like a old maid. My first dress just made me feel uncomfortable. I see in my minds eyes sitting next to an editor and them wondering how many chicken wings I eat on the regular.

This one would just make the same editor wonder if I ever breastfed because aren’t my boobs just perky. Now I just need shoes. I’m going to have to keep the two blocks in mind that I have to travel to get from my hotel (Hotel Lawrence) to the Hyatt. Tomorrow I’ll start to pack and wash what I think I’m going to wear. Hopefully, half of my wardrobe will stay at home. But then again I was a Brownie Girl Scout.

Now on to writing. I’ve finally wrote a synopsis for PROTECTING DELLA. I guess it took me getting my head out of the book to see what needed to be mentioned and what could be left out. I think my main problem was trying to fit both the suspense plot and the romance plot into two pages. Yes, in the book suspense pushes and escalates the romance and vise versa. I just didn’t need to outline it all. Now if I was planning on querying a publisher that wants more than two pages then I would go for the whole enchilada. I’m not.

I’m going to let this synopsis sit until I get back from National’s. Editors will be swamped with request from authors they asked to submit work and from Jane’s like me who feel they’ve learned something from the workshops offered.

Just a side note: Over on Smart Bitches, Nora Roberts designated herself the fashion police. This woman has a bobble head made in her like so I’m going to make sure I try everything on just in case. I’d hate to be the one she gives a citation to.

Entry filed under: RWA conference, writing.

Hi, my name is Melissa and I’m a liar! NATIONAL JITTERS

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lori Devoti  |  July 7, 2007 at 2:12 am

    I got the perky thing going too..but I’m afraid Victoria’s Secret may have pushed them past perky to down right intimidating…
    Such difficult decisions we have to make!
    Lori

  • 2. Mel  |  July 7, 2007 at 5:23 pm

    Lol. You telling me.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

