EVERYONE’S A WRITER

June 28, 2007 at 11:27 pm 2 comments

I’m feeling a little jaded today. Could be all my author blog surfing or writing forums I participate in. Everyone is a writer. Hell, there are close to 9,500 members of Romance Writer’s of America. Some are book seller’s, agents, what have you, but I’m just guessing 6,000 of those members are writers. What spurned this post is one I read over at Romancing the Blog (on the blog roll to the right). More or less they talked about writer’s who have only one book that they won’t let go.

It made me think of all the people who only make it to Chapter 3 or Six. Doesn’t matter all of them are writers. All of them have the dream to see their books on the shelf one day. For some reason or another they love to write. They take time out of their day and play with their imagination.

My question is what does it take to really be a writer? I mean really are you any less of a poet if you never perform your work in front of an audience? Any less of a singer if you never hold a note outside of your shower doors? Are you any less of a writer if your novels never see the light of day? Never get past the sagging middle?
I mean really what’s the significant difference?

The only answer I can think of is passion and a little ego. Even if on the surface you don’t think you’re writing is good enough, but you chug along, learn what makes a good book (not what books are selling at the moment), keep working at it, somewhere deep down inside, you have to believe that what you are writing is worth reading. It’s passion keeping writers up at night slaving over their manuscript to make it good regardless of the statistics that once they get published, there is no guarantee they’ll stay that way. All that has to be worth something.

Maybe I’m just being melodramatic, or the RWA trip is freaking me out and this is my way of acting out, or I could get off the Internet and right the best damn book I can and screw the competition. Hey, I did say it takes a little ego to stay in this game.

Entry filed under: internet surfing, musings.

MY RATING COLLABORATIONS

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Allie Boniface  |  July 5, 2007 at 8:48 pm

    I think a “writer” is defined as someone who writes, period. Genre doesn’t matter. Publication doesn’t matter. Many people write for various reasons that have nothing to do with other people ever seeing those words on a page in print.

    Now if you’re talking about what makes a “published writer,” I think the answer is persistence. It is awfully hard to have even one book published, and you have to be willing to deal with a lot of rejection along the way.

  • 2. Mel  |  July 5, 2007 at 9:58 pm

    Yes, I have to agree. It’s the getting back up after being knocked down that makes the difference.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

