Phoenix and Adam sitting in the tree, K-I-S-S

June 24, 2007 at 8:10 am 3 comments

It’s late here in newbie author land, but I couldn’t sleep. I’ve been trying to get a feel for my main characters. Before now they were just images floating around in my head. Impressions of who they are and what they are going to become for each other and for a satisfying resolution.
It took me a couple of clicks on the world wide web to find Phoenix. I saw this dreamy look and had to laugh. This is a look that Phoenix would die if she ever knew it crossed her face. This is the look she’s going to wear when she falls in love with the hero of course. *cue evil laughter*.
The look below is how she really is in normal circumstances. Competent, sensible, practical, no frills, no fuss, but earthy. Sanaa Lathan is perfect as a placeholder. At least these pictures portray what I see in my mind when I think of Phoenix. Plus it helps that she looks like she could drop kick you in four inch heels. Phoenix can’t help but be anal.

So you ask, who’s the hero? In a worldly sense, he’s Morris Chestnut in this picture.
In the story, his name is Adam. I can’t give you a long list of adjectives for him yet. I do know he’s just as earthy as the heroine, but has the capabilities to be Don Juan. He’s a landscaper who loves all things fauna. He likes to see things grow and he’s much of a control freak like Phoenix to want a part of it. He reaps satisfaction from watching the flowers he plants thrive. In a way he’s a free-spirited artist. Phoenix is going to hate to love him.

Anyway, I did some research on their names. Adam is a given. He was the first man in the bible. The irony, myth is that the Phoenix is the only animal that Adam didn’t take with him when he got evicted from paradise. The reason why the bird has the ability to live forever. We’ll see what my subconscious does with that one.

Entry filed under: inspiration, placeholders, writing research.

IRONY KNOWS NO BOUNDS VANITY PUBLISHERS

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rodrigo  |  June 24, 2007 at 2:33 pm

    Oi, achei teu blog pelo google tá bem interessante gostei desse post. Quando der dá uma passada pelo meu blog, é sobre camisetas personalizadas, mostra passo a passo como criar uma camiseta personalizada bem maneira. Até mais.

  • 2. Susan  |  June 28, 2007 at 11:49 am

    Hi Melissa! I came by to check out your blog after I received your comment to mine yesterday. Thank you for that, by the way. I just wanted to say that I LOVE the name thing with your characters– how the phoenix was the animal Adam didn’t take from the Garden.

  • 3. Mel  |  June 29, 2007 at 12:00 am

    Thanks. After I came up with the heroine’s name I wanted the hero’s name to have some significance to it. I wanted to give why they are meant to be together a greater depth. I found this cool fact and couldn’t pass Adam up.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

