THE ROMANCE GENRE: snubbed

June 14, 2007 at 10:49 pm 1 comment

Over on Smart Bitches they bring up the argument that the romance genre is being snubbed by big name newspapers when it comes to reviews. For me it’s disheartening to know the genre I love to read and write isn’t getting the same kudos from major newspapers as let’s say mystery or straight-laced fiction. I’ve never heard of a romance getting a Pulitzer either. (In this millennium)

Does that say from the gate what I write isn’t deep or thought provoking?

I may be wrong, but the last “romance” to win was Gone With the Wind in 1937. You can’t tell me there hasn’t been a better novel written. I guess I’m just steamed that for me to ever be recognized as a “real author” I can’t write romance. What the hell is Romeo and Juliet? That story says romance to me, but is Bet Me taught at every college? Nope. Is Carnal Innocence ever dissected to look at mores in our society as a whole,mores in a small community, and how emotional abuse can cripple a human being? Nope.

I found this definition on the Pulitzer’s Web Site. It describes what they consider worthy of a Pulitzer.

For distinguished fiction by an American author, preferably dealing with American life.

I know I went left field with this post, but sometimes things just make you wonder.

Entry filed under: rant.

PATIENCE IS NOT A VIRTUE OF MINE IRONY KNOWS NO BOUNDS

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Gaby  |  June 15, 2007 at 9:00 pm

    I know what you mean. I totally get that there have been a lot of GREAT romance novels written out there since 1937. Don’t get discouraged. You always have us romance novel reading lovers in your back pocket.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

