THE IMPORTANCE OF VOICE, CRAFT, CHARACTER

June 7, 2007 at 3:09 am 3 comments

I found something that proves my point in why I freaked out over not having my voice yesterday. Over on Allie’s Musing (she’s on the blog roll to the right) she announced that Samhaim Publishing was having a first line contest. In general you post your first line of a story and if it’s good they’ll ask for a second line up until the fifth line. From their they will announce winners and you can submit your novel to them. Lately their submissions have been closed. Right now they are only accepting short stories for anthologies.

I submitted on the first day. I said, “Wow, I’m number 83.” Now I’ve gone back since the 4th and they’re now 230 first lines. I’m not sure if you read that right the first time 230. My first line has to stand out. My line has to grab the editors who are reading through these and make an editor want my second line. I now see why most authors first sentence takes up at least three lines in a book. This is what I’m up against in the publishing world. This is why I have to be the best and want to know everything that makes a writer great. Did I mention the first line submissions doesn’t close until Friday? It’s Wednesday and there are 230 first lines.

*sigh* I am off to write before I get really depressed.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

A CONVERSATION: me, my character and the girls. FLOATING ON CLOUD NINE

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Allie Boniface  |  June 9, 2007 at 11:09 am

    No depression allowed! But yeah, I know how you feel about first lines and the tremendous competition. I mean, one line? You’re supposed to tempt, tease, motivate, promise, and mystify all in one line??

    Good luck with the contest. I can’t believe so many people have entered!!

  • 2. Mel  |  June 9, 2007 at 5:38 pm

    Thankfully it only reaced to 270. I can’t imagine being an editor. I’m mean this is just a first line contest. I see why it takes so long to hear back on a submission.

    Anyway, thanks.

  • 3. Anonymous  |  June 13, 2007 at 8:45 am

    Hi Melissa,
    I’ve discovered Samhain publishing via your blog. There’s a lot of wonderful books, in the genre that I’m wrting, there. Thanks again and I hoped you’ll be published soon.

    Juliana(elvira662001@yahoo.fr)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

