WHY NEWBIE AUTHOR SHOULDN’T: read book reviews

May 24, 2007 at 6:38 pm Leave a comment

For the past week I’ve been overindulging on book reviews, but just not any book reviews, bad ones. This includes Mrs.Giggles and Smart Bitches who Love Trashy Novels. Wading through at least 50 book reviews that either had low scores or a D/F rating I felt like a manic depressive. I laughed, I cried, I winced often and said ouch for the author. Some of the books I had read and wholeheartedly agreed on the reviewers’ opinion.

So you ask why should a newbie author never read these types of reviews?

These reviews were honestly harsh. The characters or plot were unbelievable, characterization inconsistent, yet neither editor or author caught this. If not all, but most of the reviewed books had big name publishers backing them. This scares me a lot.

When do you know what you are writing is crap? It likes like walking around with your skirt tucked in your underwear and no one tells you. Yikes! Not only that every word you write you start to second guess yourself. Is this contrived? Am what I’m saying taboo and by writing this am I going make a reviewer rabid and trash the hell out of my book. Worst whether the reviewer has credentials or not it truly doesn’t matter. Their opinion is out there labeling my heroine TSTL, pointing out the holes in my plot, recognizing my hero as a horny toad with no brain.

I know, I know, one person may foam at the mouth talking about my book and someone else will love it. You can’t make everyone happy and you should write what you believe in your heart and damn the naysayers. But what if I put out the book equivalent to THE BRIDE OF CHUCKY.

My stomach knots at the thought. Yes, I know I’m putting the buggy before the horse. I’m worrying about something that hasn’t even happened yet or will ever happen. How about I sell a book first before I start to worry if I’ve put out a crappy book.

All in all, this is why a newbie author shouldn’t read bad book reviews.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Napoleon Dynamite FIRST LINES and THEIR IMPORTANCE

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

