TO E-PUB OR NOT TO E-PUB THAT IS THE ?

May 8, 2007 at 4:23 pm 1 comment

So I searched and found that getting into actual print is 10 times harder than when I tried the first time. The whole process can leave me feeling defeated and cynical. I blog search a whole lot and kept on stumbling upon authors who are e-pubbed. Some with not so good publishers and others with decent ones. I kept going to the e-pubs websites, reading their guidelines and thinking “I can do this”.

I’m not saying getting e-pub is much easier than roping in a contract with Dorchester, or Harlequin. It’s just the fact you have a whole lot more choices with legitimate e-publishers. And e-pubs are getting a whole lot more recognition than when they started. Samhain Publishing (sp?) is now a e-pub recognized by Romance Writers of America. Most small strictly paper publishers don’t have that distinction.

When I first started to write I didn’t even consider this avenue. Now that I’ve come across someone Else’s blog who not only snagged a big name publisher but they have bought the rights to eight other books to reprint. She started with an e-pub. Hmm…I’ll have to think about this a little more. It’s scary that I’m making a career decision. I’m taking my writing and myself more seriously.

I hope this isn’t a sign that I’m getting old.

Entry filed under: publishing woes.

I FEEL A RANT COMING ON Forgot to ADD

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Allie Boniface  |  May 16, 2007 at 10:38 pm

    I never even considered e-pubbing either, but I had such a hard time finding a print publisher that I decided to consider it.

    I’ve since been contracted by both Samhain and The Wild Rose Press, and while I’m thrilled about that, I still plan to approach print publishers as well, with later works.

    I figure anything that gets your name out there (in a positive way) is a plus.

    Good luck with your decision – it’s not an easy one!!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

