THE AWAKENING

April 28, 2007 at 2:20 am Leave a comment

Now I’m not a classic book buff. To me most of the writing dragged on for pages and pages of nothing but blather. Reading books before the 1900’s took a large amount of patience and grinding my teeth. The whole time, I’m thinking IS THERE A FREAKING PLOT!

But I’ve come across a jewel. I’ve heard about Kate Chopin in my English classes, read some of her short stories and found the ironic humor in most. Definitely a woman before her time. So I’ve had THE AWAKENING on my shelf for some time, just like I’ve had Pride and Prejudice, Jane Erye, Vanity Fair, and another handful of classics but yesterday I decided to try another classic book. (I was feeling scholarish) I loved it.

I want to be like this women as a writer. I want to write something true to what I think and believe. Is it egotistical of me to say I want something I write to be immortalized. Probably not Politically Correct but hey after reading this book who gives a damn?

The quote that I love,love love is this : “The bird that would soar above the level plain of tradition and prejudice must have strong wings. It is a sad spectacle to see the weaklings bruised, exhausted, fluttering back to earth.

Other writers are always talking about writing the truth, it may be the characters or the story and now I believe them. What Chopin wrote in THE AWAKENING is more than an affair of the heart, it’s finding life wonderful when all you’ve done is survive or numbly watch it pass by.

Participate in your life, stop being an observer, don’t just live your life but enjoy it. That is what this book says to me. So now I have to go write and hopefully I will bring a freshness to it that is the truth.

Entry filed under: inspiration, writing.

BOOK IDEAS ALPHA, BETA, GAMMA?, AND OTHER CHARACTERIZATION

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

