WHY I STRIVE FOR GREATNESS-The Color Purple

April 23, 2007 at 3:56 am Leave a comment

The book itself won a Pulizter Prize that should tell you something off the bat. If that doesn’t convince, the movie can bring a grown man to tears. It is the epitome of writing, a work of art and now it’s a musical. Music transcends all other forms of media.(If you don’t believe me look up Jennifer Hudson’s performance of And I’m Telling You.)

A great singer can pull you into their world and make you cry like a baby. Which is why I’m jealous of anyone who can see Fantasia Barrino play Celie in the Broadway Production of The Color Purple. Now I wasn’t a big fan before I saw this video, yet out of context this song is still beautiful. I know this particular scene in the movie is when Celie finally leaves Mista after years of verbal and physical abuse. It’s an empowering moment and to have it made into a SONG! I digress…

So without further ado Fantasia singing, “I’m Here.”

Entry filed under: inspiration, writing.

I LOVE MY VAGINA! NO, REALLY IT’S NOT GIVING UP

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

