TURNING POINTS AND THE SUCKNOPSIS

April 3, 2007 at 4:22 pm Leave a comment

I’m a little over 40k words in PROTECTING DELLA, and I realized much to my panic that soon I will have to start to send my baby out into this harsh publishing world. Needless to say I was one breath from hyperventilating, since about sometime last week I had an epiphany that I’m not putting myself out there. In the three years I’ve started to write I’ve only sent out 2 q&s.

It scares me right down to my toes that I just may be good at this writing thing. I can take rejection, but what do you do when you finally reach your goal? What becomes your new goal? I know this struggle so well of trying to get published and the thought of the unknown frightens me. I’ll have new reasons to second guess myself. I digress.

I’m biting the bullet and I’m going to knocked out a sucknopsis. I had to sit down and really think about my story, what changes my characters have gone through, who were they on page one and what’s different about them when I type THE END. The more I thought about the story, more of the panic eased and maybe just maybe I can do this writing gig again and it not seem so scary, for now. So after a large cup of coffee and some brainstorming I’ve come up with Four major turning points, The Black Moment, and the Resolution. I’m not sure if this is a good formula to use with a sucknopsis but I’m going to go with my gut and use it.

By the end of the week, I’m going to see what happens and send out another q&s. So stay tuned for the panic portion of this episode. (By the way, for the none writers, its really called a synopsis.)

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Piss Midgets and Rejection letters SUBMISSION GUIDELINES

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

