WHY I LOVE BEING A WRITER

March 9, 2007 at 5:27 pm Leave a comment

I’ve been learning so much lately about writing that I sometimes feel overwhelmed. When I think I’ve got something, another piece of the writing puzzle comes along and throws me for a loop.

When I first started I honestly thought all there was to writing was getting the story down, and getting it down. All I would have to do is find misspelled words.

Then I picked up a few how to books and that blew my theory to hell and back. I wrote another book. Then I stumbled upon writing forums. They talked about character arcs, pacing, three act structure, characterization for both the protagonist and antagonist and why you should spend as much time creating the p as for the a.

Everyday I feel like I should know more about writing before I write, but that’s the catch twenty-two. You don’t learn from your writing unless you write. You have to write to make sure everything you are learning is being put to use.

For me at least it doesn’t matter because I get a rush every time I open a word document. Every time I hit a nail on the head in my story and then the world seems like it has opened up for me and my writing just flows, I remember why I love doing it. What makes you feel like that?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

R W Freaking A Editing, How I Can Count the Ways

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

