IRONY KNOWS NO BOUNDS

February 5, 2007 at 4:06 am Leave a comment

The month for lovers is shared with Black History Month. In another post I’ll talk about that, but this post is dedicated to Valentine’s Day.

I hate it.

Yes, I know I write romance. I love to read a romance novel, but I hate having to drive, walk, interact with cheesy lovebirds. It’s like watching a never ending movie where the hero and heroine keep saying, “I love you.” and “No, I love you more.” Having to watch this in rotation, just the thought of it with no commercial breaks, no emergency broadcasting, makes me sick.

Some may say I really want that. I can honestly say not in that way. If I have that type of love in my life I rather see it 365. Not the type of love that rushes out to Walmart to buy me a balloon to remind me why I’m loved. What happens to the other 364 days.
If you think I’m biased go to your local Walmart, Target, Dollar Store and you will see more men out then you thought existed. Maybe I just don’t like Valentine’s Day because it’s a holiday. There is this superimposed rush to your time and it’s become so commercial and the real meaning is lost somehow.
So I say if saying you love somebody isn’t enough(of course if you still choose to buy something that’s not frowned upon) then they may not be the person for you.

And finally the whole point to this post, I’m the Grinch that stole Cupid’s Bows.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

The One-Finding the Right Critique Partner IN FOR THE COUNT

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

