AT LEAST I DIDN’T CRY

January 9, 2007 at 4:24 pm 1 comment

Other writers suggest you should have buddy to go with you when you send off your writing. I totally agree. I roped in my mother to hold my hand while at the post office. She’s there to be the good angel that whispers words of encouragement when, me, the bad angel tells me to run out of the building.

What are you doing?

Your book is no where near ready.

The good angel (my mother) tells me that it’s just a query and synopsis, I have time to polish. Have good thoughts they will ask for a partial or a full of the manuscript.

What she doesn’t know is that scares me the most. I would have to hand over my baby and get a subjective opinion of my writing. Just thinking about that makes me want to hyperventilate. I may not be up to par and don’t know it. Or worst I am, but my writing can’t sell.

So I try to be the good angel and repeat I’m a great writer. Yet that little voice is freaking out.

Is this the right address, am I spelling the editors name right?

Did I send enough postage? Did I forget to put a comma after the salutation?
I’m a great writer.

Did I make a newbie error that would get my stuff tossed before it’s even read?
I’m a great writer.

Besides driving myself half way insane just trying to send the thing, I hand over my future to a grumpy looking post man who has worked there since my mother moved from Texas. I was seven, I’m now 21 and she even confesses she’s never seen him smile. So I’m handing over my future to a man who probably throws away futures i.e. mail, for fun, just to get his jollies.

I’m a great writer, I keep telling myself.

Yet,that doesn’t stop me from tensing up when I he puts it in the large mail box. (Yes, I watched him toss it in there. It made me want to strangle him and say “that’s my future you just carelessly tossed”.)But I digress. It’s done,I did it, and now the waiting may finish me off.

Now who said again writing was easy?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

TWO BLOGS IN ONE MONTH I MUST BE ON A ROLL Officially pulling my hair out

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Nell Dixon  |  January 9, 2007 at 9:00 pm

    Good luck! I know these feelings well and even when you sell you’ll still feel the same way with each and every submission. But be proud, you’ve achieved something lots of people never ever do and hey – you’re a great writer – right?? hugs.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

