POTENTIAL

March 19, 2006 at 5:28 am Leave a comment

Sometime last year in one of my writing spurts I came up with a book idea. It’s about infidelity, murder, and rectifying the past so that a family can come back together. This book scares the bejebus out of me.

For me I don’t just have ideas I have opening scenes. Most of the time when I think of another story I write out the first chapter and that to me is the seed that will sprout a book. The opening scene for this particular book was a man burying a body.

After I was done writing it I was chilled to the bone because I had to step into this man shoes. I had to think of his rationale, but this scene is so important because it’s the catalyst for the future. But it’s the magnitude of the story that scares me. Am I a good enough writer yet to tackle this type of story where the hero and heroine story of course is most important, but the secondary characters come with their own problems that need to be resolved and everything is intertwined in such a way that even I, a panster (type of writer that just writes, no outlining, no nothing) has to write down who is doing what, when, and why.

I think what scares me so much about this story is that the plot, the subplot, and characters are so strong that I’m worried that in my ignorance I’ll screw it up. This particular book feels so much bigger than me in a way like the words that need to be written aren’t coming from me but through me.

It’s a strange feeling to have. But I guess that’s what being a writer is, letting the story tell itself. Becoming a writer should have really come with a forewarning label. AT TIMES YOU WILL BE WEIRDED OUT. Ta-Ta for now.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

I’M A GENIOUS…NO REALLY… STOP LAUGHING SOME DAYS CAN FEEL LIKE FOREVER

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

